Five countries qualify for AFCON 2022

AFCON trophy

Five countries have so far qualified for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) following the conclusion of matchday four fixtures on Tuesday.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) disclosed this in a post via its Twitter handle on Wednesday.

The countries are Cameroon, Senegal, Algeria, Mali and Tunisia.

Tunisia booked a place at the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations after playing a 1-1 draw with Tanzania on Tuesday, while Mali defeated Namibia 2-1 on Tuesday.

Algeria secured their ticket after playing a 2-2 draw with Zimbabwe on Monday, while Senegal won Guinea-Bissau 1-0 on Sunday.

Cameroon have an automatic spot as hosts.

“Cameroon, Senegal, Algeria, Mali, Tunisia.

Cameroon qualifies as host of the AFCON. And will use six stadiums across five Cameroon cities: Yaounde, Douala, Garouda, Limbe and Bafoussam.

Paul Biya Stadium and the Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo in the capital Yaounde, the Japoma Stadium in Douala, the Limbe Stadium in Limbe, the Kouekong Stadium in Bafoussam and the Roumde Adjia Stadium in Garoua have all been chosen as competition venues.

  • Leave a Comment